Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/23/2006, 08:54 PM
Registered Member

new 12g aquapod have ??????

I am getting ready to set up a 12gal nano and I have read that it is better to go with natural filtration is that true? If so what is the best way to do that, do I really need to cut out pieces of my filtration? I have been doing saltwater for four years now and this is my first attempt at a reef aquarium. I have also heard that nano reefs are harder than others, is that true? Please help the lost and confused.
Old 05/23/2006, 09:53 PM
Registered Member

Nano reefs are harder than larger aquariums due to the fact that the chemical flucuation will be more rapid in a nano than in a larger. Example a fish dies in a 65g yes it will raise the nitrates, ammonia, and nitrites, but it won't raise the chemicals as fast because of the larger amount of water in the tank. Natural filtration is ok there is a space where you can place a small light over the back filtration part and make your own refugium, but filtration is for you to decide, I got my mom a nano skimmer works ok I have been dosing her tank with prodibio as well.
Old 05/24/2006, 01:22 AM
Registered Member

Re: new 12g aquapod have ??????

Quote:
Originally posted by kendi