Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08/19/2005, 04:20 PM
Registered Member

Sump Decision, Refugium Live Rock or Macro?

I have a dilemma on my hands. I have been researching reef aquariums for about 2 months and for my birthday my wife bought me a 29 gallon aquarium and a 20L for a sump. (I was actually looking at a 20L and 15 for sump, so she let me have the upgrade ;o) The problem is the stand that I have is going to expose both the 29 and 20L. This tank will be in the living room so the 20L sump will have to look decent.

I have already decided the refuguim will be on the full front of the sump. The skimmer and everything else will remain in the back as hidden as possible.

To get to my question:
I was originally planning on have a bunch of macro algae in my refugium, but now with it being exposed I was thinking of making it just a smaller aquarium with a deeper sand bend and full of live rock, this will house no fish because I want pods to live down there, but it will obviously have snails, etc.

Would there be any negative side effects with scratching the macro for more LR and LS?

(To be noted this section will be lit opposite the schedule of the display tank to help balance everything)

Thanks,
Eric
Old 08/19/2005, 04:26 PM
Registered Member