Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > NorthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Connecticut Area Reef Society (C.T.A.R.S.)
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02/16/2005, 07:59 AM
Registered Member

T5's have arrived

I had a 2x96 w coralife pc.
I switched over last night to a SLS 36" teklight T5 with 4 39 watt ATI bulbs: 1 6k sun, 1 11k aqua blue and 2 blu +.
--
I know from recent post alot of people were interested in t5's.
I will try to post soon & will definitely have pics at the meeting before and after for those that want to see the difference.
--
Im not an expert I will just give my observations:
Im now using less wattage and the tank appears alot brighter, infact im only running 2 bulbs for a few days so i do not shock my softies.
the corals color is more enhanced then w/pc's.
The coral does not phosphuesce (is this a word) as much as i expected from viewing a t5 post on new to the hobby.
---
For those who want to know $$ it was a few cents over $382.00 to my door from reef geek.
---
Old 02/16/2005, 08:49 AM
How YOU doin?

My corals do not flouresce as well under my T5s as they did under VHO, but bulb combo could be a factor for me- I have 2 6500k, 1 actinic, 1 blue+.

Reefcentral Folding@Home team 37251 - Click my little red house to learn more and help medical science!
Old 02/16/2005, 08:53 AM
Registered Member

Hey mmd looking foward to seeing those pics. I'm pretty convinced from what i've read and seen posted here that i will be using t5's to light my 90 ( going to get the 8/ 54 watt unit) Did you get the lights from Reef Geek?