Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09/02/2007, 05:30 PM
Registered Member

Starting a 50 gallon reef (brand new to the hobby)

I have done cichlid tanks for about 4 years now. I am brand new to salt but have been lurking these forums for about 3 weeks now reading everything I can.

First off, the tank I'm using has a bit of an unconventional footprint for its capacity. I would describe it as a 50 wide. It is about 12-14 inch's tall, 4 feet long and I cant remember exactly how wide.

Here are some question's I had pertaining to my new reef build.

#1. From what I gathered, with this unconventional footprint that makes the tank rather short, I don't require as powerful a lighting as I would with a taller tank. Based upon this assumption and the fact that I am a poor college student, I have picked out these lights. Is this at least a decent choice? I plan to keep some simple beginner corals.

#2. In regards to cycling my tank. How should I go about it? I was planning on using the method in which you sprinkle flake food to build up ammonia and the corresponding bacteria colony to get rid of it. Since I plan on having live rock, should I use it to cycle my tank? If so, how much should I initially add?

#3. Flow. From what I read it never became clear to me whether or not I needed power heads, and if I did, which type? I am also confused as to how to arrange the power heads. What should they be pointing at?