Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Photography
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07/11/2007, 02:48 PM
Registered Member

A few new shots with d200

Well the more I play around with this camera and the 105mm lens the more I love it. Now I've just got to get some decent softare but who in the world can afford cs3? I can't for now so I just started playing around with iPhoto. Let me know what you think.

Old 07/11/2007, 03:15 PM
Registered Member

CS3 isn't that bad on the upgrade

Nice shots...I'm still trying to find the happy medium with my 105 on my d200...

I'm pretty happy with my most recent shots though (I'm still new at tank shots, and the hobby in general)

Old 07/11/2007, 04:34 PM
Registered Member

Yeah but this will be an initial purchase.... ouch. But I really like your shots. That brain is awesome looking.

It does take a lot of practice though. Isn't that 105mm lens nice though?
Old 07/12/2007, 08:45 AM
Registered Member

Oooh....yeah... the $600 buy in is steep. Think of it as a new high-end lens

The 105 is a sweet lens, a little picky at times, but when it's happy, it's tack sharp. After all it is Nikon Glass.
Old 07/12/2007, 01:31 PM
Premium Member

check out photoshop elements 5.0, 80 bucks, and with a quick Download it will support RAW, which is .NEF for nikon, and its really all you need. Fantastic for WB, exposure, contrast, shadows. Makes great pics that much better.
Old 07/12/2007, 10:07 PM
Eternally Discombobulated

The buy-in may be steep but the rewards are worth it. I'm using CS3 on my iMac and it is an AMAZING piece of photo editing software.