Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Coral Forums > Zoanthids
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/05/2007, 06:02 PM
Life's better on 1 wheel

Just got some Zoas and have a question....

I am somewhat new to corals but not new to saltwater tanks. I just picked up some zoas and added them to the tank. They have bright green mouths and rims on them. I have a 46 gallon bowfront with 192 watts PC on it. My zoas are about 6-7 inches from the surface of the water. I acclimated them and I just placed them where they are going to be. They are already opening up nicely. I know I need to keep them up high with only 192 watts of PC. But do these things need to be fed any food? Should I blend some meaty foods and fed it to them with a turkey baster?

click on the red house for my MYSPACE page with pics of my tank
Old 05/05/2007, 06:38 PM
Zoanthid collector

Best question ever.
Old 05/05/2007, 08:56 PM
Registered Member

I don't target feed mine . That said I don't think it's a bad idea , just extra work.
Old 05/05/2007, 10:38 PM
Registered Member

All I have in my tank is Zoas.About ten All different sizes and color
all i do is feed my fish.These things grow like crazy.Go figure.
Old 05/06/2007, 12:07 AM
No, I can't ID!

The easy answer is no, they do not need to be fed. The tough questions are:

Will they accept food?
Will feeding them accelerate growth?
Will trying to feed my zoas change my water quality?