PDA

View Full Version : What keeps you in the hobby?

ficklefins
06/07/2005, 10:47 AM
What exactly keeps you going in this hobby? As much time, money and energy that goes into this hobby it makes me wonder if it is worth it.
Also, will there ever be a time when you will call it quits?

So here are some of the reasons why I stay in it.

I have around 2 years of experience in this hobby and I feel like I learn something new everytime I read up on here. I get tired of a hobby when I stop learning about it, so this forum and new books have provided the interest to keep me going. I always see new corals, fish, and equipment that interest me so I am constantly researching.

I will call it quits when I can no longer pay for this hobby, or don't have the time for it. If it comes down to buying another IO bucket or dinner for me, then the tank will go.

Biscutz
06/07/2005, 10:54 AM
Yea I ask myself the same thing too. Why are you spending all this time, effort, and money on this "thing". I guess the answer for me is that I enjoy the satisfaction of watching this incredible creature grow and mature. This last year has really struck me with the SPS bug, and man I tell you it is addictive. My biggest problem now is that I really can't add anything more to my tank. Half the excitement for me was getting up on a Saturday and driving down to my LFS to see what they got in, now I can look but I can't touch, lol. It's also rough watching your favorite coral, which has been with you for 2 years, slowly RTN for no apparent reason. But the more we go through, the more we learn, and the better we become at keeping our little slice of the ocean. Just my .02.

kbmdale
06/07/2005, 11:19 AM