PDA

View Full Version : T5's have arrived

mmd
02/16/2005, 07:59 AM
I had a 2x96 w coralife pc.
I switched over last night to a SLS 36" teklight T5 with 4 39 watt ATI bulbs: 1 6k sun, 1 11k aqua blue and 2 blu +.
--
I know from recent post alot of people were interested in t5's.
I will try to post soon & will definitely have pics at the meeting before and after for those that want to see the difference.
--
Im not an expert I will just give my observations:
Im now using less wattage and the tank appears alot brighter, infact im only running 2 bulbs for a few days so i do not shock my softies.
the corals color is more enhanced then w/pc's.
The coral does not phosphuesce (is this a word) as much as i expected from viewing a t5 post on new to the hobby.
---
For those who want to know $$ it was a few cents over $382.00 to my door from reef geek.
---

Shoestring Reefer
02/16/2005, 08:49 AM
My corals do not flouresce as well under my T5s as they did under VHO, but bulb combo could be a factor for me- I have 2 6500k, 1 actinic, 1 blue+.

joeski3
02/16/2005, 08:53 AM
Hey mmd looking foward to seeing those pics. I'm pretty convinced from what i've read and seen posted here that i will be using t5's to light my 90 ( going to get the 8/ 54 watt unit) Did you get the lights from Reef Geek?
Good Luck!...i'll look for you at the next meeting..:D

mmd
02/16/2005, 09:23 AM
yes reef geek, well packaged and arrived on tinme, although they use ups which is the slowest ship in the shipping buss.

Shoestring Reefer
02/16/2005, 09:32 AM
I also used Reefgeek; UPS damaged some bulbs, but Reefgeek replaced them. The service is excellent, I'm very happy with them.

danellis06460
02/16/2005, 04:42 PM
errm, cough, Mike did you say you might have some pictures of your canopy ?

mmd
02/16/2005, 06:09 PM
no tank with comparo on the light, i do not have a canopy

danellis06460
02/16/2005, 07:57 PM
Sorry, I meant the other Mike, shoestring reefer.

Originally posted by mmd