Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03/06/2006, 04:15 PM
Registered Member

Something beside Starboard for BB?

I was considering a switch to a bare bottom setup when I get my new tank. BB vs. DSB debate a side is there anything anyone came up with beside starboard for lining the bottom of the tank. I work as a chef and stare at a cutting board 50 hours a week. I can't have a cutting board in my tank, very un Zen. I need something because i think bare glass would be ugly and I have urchins that knock everthing over so I need something esle. Has anyone come up with anything cool?
Old 03/06/2006, 07:31 PM
Premium Member

I seem to recall at the start of the "Starboard craze" some folks used cutting boards. You could read the original thread

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hreadid=223301

I think it was in there somewhere.

Or, maybe here:

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hreadid=553566

Have fun..
Old 03/06/2006, 07:39 PM
Registered Member

Have you thought about a faux sand bed? Its got that "natural" look but works like a barebottom.
Old 03/06/2006, 08:12 PM
Registered Member

That kinda what I was thinking but I can't find any info.
Old 03/06/2006, 08:27 PM
Registered Member

Okay a link to a link to a link. I think I found one
http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...5&pagenumber=1

Anybody else have a thread?
Old 03/06/2006, 08:41 PM
Registered Member

Sorry I am using a lab computer and can bookmark so I am collecting them if anyone wants to chip in.
http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hlight=acrylic