Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02/10/2006, 02:38 PM
Registered Member

Disposal of salt water

I am moving and will no longer have "city water." I am concerned about draining the water from my reef tank into the yard and possibly contaminating our well. Any suggestions for disposal?
Old 02/10/2006, 02:53 PM
Registered Member

My guess it that it would take a LOT of water to carry the dissolved solids from you water to a well depth. I'm no expert, but I wouldn't worry about a few gallons of salt water versus the ground... Am I way off?
Old 02/10/2006, 02:55 PM
RC Staff & Thread Pirate

[welcome]

Nuclear winter solves global warming.
Old 02/10/2006, 02:59 PM
Registered Member

I guess I left out a key detail -- my house caught on fire, so I had to combine three reef tanks into one BIG TANK . . . 745 gallons. I'm talking more than a few gallons of water change a week!
Old 02/10/2006, 03:03 PM
S. Gigantea junky

I pump mine down the toilet.
Old 02/10/2006, 03:03 PM
Registered Member

Again, I'm no expert, and I'd love for someone who really knows to chime in, but... the ground does filter to soem degree. Even salts from freshwater (tap water) will accumulate on the surface of the soil over time. I still think worst case scenario is sterilizing the ground and killing the grass or some plants.
Old 02/10/2006, 03:19 PM
Registered Member

I have a 120g and I have only dumped a total of ten gal down the toilet. I doubt a septic can handle much salt water. I generally dump it behind the barn. The well is about 50 feet from that spot.