Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Advanced Topics
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10/20/2005, 12:59 PM
Registered Member

all in one system

Is there a company that makes an all-in-one type system that monitors all of your water parameters, water level, reserve topoff, reserve salt mix, and a water changer all in one?
Old 10/20/2005, 01:07 PM
Registered Member

YEAH OK, good luck with that one.
Old 10/20/2005, 01:17 PM
Registered Member

no, seriously. If not, I want to make one, and sell it. I am a computer programmer by day and would leverage that to create a program to do all this for me. It would include live video monitoring etc. Dosing of the sw mix. you name it. It would broadcast any event that the user set a limit to via email, page, cell phone txt, u name it. Would this not be a very cool item to have?
Old 10/20/2005, 01:21 PM
My Life for Aiur!

It would be nice, but the cost would be too great for your average joe. Also, checking water parameters will be extremely difficult, unless you can find a robotic arm to do the tests for you

All in all, it COULD be done, but the price is most likely too much
Old 10/20/2005, 01:28 PM
Registered Member

Never said it would be cheap. I would design it so you could have plug-ins of different things you want. Start with a base unit and add things as you need them. Like start with a pH live monitor and 6mo down the road I want to add a SG live meter, plug it in, configure it, done.

Just wondering if something out there is actually done and like this. I don't want to do it if it's been done already.
Old 10/20/2005, 01:57 PM