Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > NorthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Delaware Reef Club (DRC)
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/06/2007, 09:56 PM
Registered Member

Propagating

I am interested in proagating alot of things in my tank.. such as mushrooms, xenia, kenya tree, finger leather and button polyps can anyone give me some tips if they know anything regarding propping these things.. i have never done it before.

Thank you
Liz
Old 12/06/2007, 10:16 PM
Registered Member

throw the mushrooms into a blender with some tank water ... frappe till you get chunks ... pour back into a prop tankn with no mech filtration ... start filtering about 1 - 2 days later ... wait for bushels of mushrooms to grow from the pieces ... i've also heard you want to NOT ue a blender you'll ever use for food again

xenia ... just let it grow ... snip pieces off ... attach to rock(s) as needed (super glue)

not sure about leather, but you should be able to do the same as with zenia

heck ... just look at garf.org
Old 12/06/2007, 10:18 PM
Registered Member

Ok, well where to start.

Mushrooms - Depending on how many mushrooms you want you can chop them up into almost any size pieces you want and they will eventually grow back, but you may have some more mortality. The best way that I have found is to cut the cap of the mushroom off of the rock with the mouth still attached and perhaps cut that in half if you choose. Then put a cup or small container of rubble in a low flow area and put the pieces in. In a couple weeks they will be healthy new mushrooms.