Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > SouthWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Central Oklahoma Marine Aquarium Society
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/05/2007, 10:43 AM
Registered Member

Nitrates

I need help (ha ha ha)! I have been fighting Nitrates in my tank for several months now. I am not able to get them down no matter what I try. I am changing 10 gallons of water for DI water once a week or so (It is a 55 gallon tank). We have a 20 gallon sump with live rock and live sand. We have lots of live rock in the main tank (best guess is 75 pounds as we have two rocks that are 25-30 pounds each). I have an Emperor 400 attached to the main tank and I have a SeaClone 100 Protein Skimmer. I have very little (practically no) 'reef' items, a normal fish load, and LOTS of cleanup crew.

I found an article discussing a Coil Denitrator (http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/pro...coildenitr.htm). I have never heard of one of these and didn't know if this sort of thing actually works. Please let me know what you guys use control your Nitrates.
Old 12/05/2007, 11:13 AM
Registered Member