Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > Reef Fishes
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11/06/2007, 08:47 PM
Registered Member

Question Info on White-Freckled Tang?

Hello. I am new to RC. A local reefer has a 5" White-Freckled Tang (Acanthurus Maculiceps) for 6 months that is for sale. I think this a rare fish in the aquarium trade. Does anyone have any experience with these fish? I would assume that it is reef safe as it is a tang. I think they can get rather large. I do already have a sailfin, hipo, yello and naso tangs in my 300 gal reef tank. Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Shane
Old 11/07/2007, 02:58 AM
Premium Member

they are rather rare. But a hardy Acanthurus species. I would highly suggest getting it It will be fine with your current fish. The sailfin may bully it but other then that nothing else.
Old 11/07/2007, 08:46 AM
Anti "So called Expert"

I have had one for about a week and a half. I bought it from one of the online vendors. They told me that they are not the hardiest acanthurus but thus far he has been a trooper. I did notice that they can be suseptible to Crypto but it is getting over it nicely.
My speciman is also not a push over. It is around 3" and refuses to back down from the other tangs and even stood up to my big Sohal. It is becoming one of my favorite fish.

The TOTM from a few months ago has one in it so you could probably PM the owner and get his take as well.

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-09/totm/index.php
Old 11/07/2007, 10:42 AM
Keeper of Tangs

They are quite rare, spot checks are great fish and all the ones I have seen or been around have been quite hardy fish.