Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Photography
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07/28/2007, 08:10 PM
Premium Member

12K Reeflux Bulb Photo Opportunity

I wanted to start a new thread to share my experience with taking photos of Mike Leonard's TOTM for September yesterday afternoon. I have been making photos of reef tanks for five years now and have been extremely frustrated with any tank I had shot. I don't feel that way anymore after shooting Mike's tank under 12K Reeflux bulbs.

The qoute below was taken from one of my posts from this thread:

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...&pagenumber=11

"I think the area in tank photography that effects your success the most is the types of lights that are used. Without good lighting, photographs can look as unnatural as the Simpsons. Light is everything. I have never felt shooting under variuos 10K bulbs and especially 14K(what I have at home now) and 20K bulbs ever produced natural photos right out of the camera. You really have to work heavily with white balance and color channels to get anything close to natural. The coral, the rock, the corraline, and the fish just don't look like what you see when you are there in front of the tank. That is not the tanks fault. You know how it looks in front of your tank, but your camera has a s**t load of trouble trying to figure it out. Most 10K's will blow out highlights in your shots and blues look so unnatural that the majority of the shots I just throw away."