Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > West Region-Reef Club Forums > Southern California Reefers
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/12/2007, 03:35 PM
Registered Member

Need help! 180 Acrylic developed cracks

Just now found two large cracks in top of reeftank. One crack runs from back edge of opening to overflow box, the other runs from front edge of opening at opposite side to the front corner of tank. I'm no expert but this seems to be fatal for this tank. I'm not sure what to do, but I'm thinking I need to find a new 180 today. Anyone know where to get a good quality tank at a fair price today? Any advice is appreciated!
Old 05/12/2007, 03:49 PM
Registered Member

drain it down to 2/3 level...use powerheads for circulation. do water changes every few days.you should be ok and will buy you time to find a tank.

Not sure where you can get one cheap,but hopefully others on here will chyme in.
Old 05/12/2007, 03:59 PM
Registered Member

Thanks ninersrule1, I've started draining it down and the powerhead is going!
Old 05/12/2007, 04:24 PM
Registered Member

I called Tongs in Costa Mesa. They don't have any 180 RR tanks!
Old 05/12/2007, 05:36 PM
Registered Member

Cediss,
Just send you a pm.
Old 05/12/2007, 08:02 PM
Registered Member

quick go to www.atafish.com they are here in cerritos they usually have pre made 180g with no overflow they just have to put it on.
Old 05/12/2007, 08:09 PM
Premium Member

check OCaquatics... I believe they had a 180 in stock.
Old 05/13/2007, 12:07 AM
Registered Member

Hey thanks to all who sent PM's as well as to those with advice on this thread.