Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > SCUBA/Snorkeling
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04/15/2007, 09:09 PM
Registered Member

Ricordia on the reef

If I am to snorkel in the keys, were mite i find florida ricordia on the reef? Id like to see what itlooks like in the wild.. ive been snorkling for like 9 years and ive never noticed it.

also does anyone know the local florida laws for taking corals? I know hard corals are off limits :x
Old 04/15/2007, 11:20 PM
Registered Member

No collecting with in 30-40 miles off shore the keys is nothing but a large marine sanctuary and and they ask you not to remove widlife anywhere to help build back the eco system. As an avid diver and marine tank owener i say dont collect. Let the reef build back up, i was there back in febuary and this is the best i have seen the reefs.
Old 04/16/2007, 10:21 AM
Registered Member

i go on a regular basis. Last time i went i caught a baby octopus under a bridge, and ive had him ever since. Hes an awesome pet. By the way have you been to the dry tortugas? I definetly recommend it.
Old 04/19/2007, 11:50 PM
Registered Member

There are areas of the Keys that you can collect from. It's not all a protected sanctuary. try looking on the FWC (florida wildlife and conservation) website for the limits and species allowed. You also might want to get a map of the keys that shows the preserve areas. Last summer I was there and collected a cleaner crew and they are still doing great in my tank. You just have to be careful where you collect. Soft corals and gorgonians (some) are allowed I think.