PDA

View Full Version : System Go!

fishdoc11
05/19/2004, 07:38 PM
Hey everyone,
I have now been given the official go ahead to upgrade my 75 sumpless sps to a RR 90. So now I am looking for everyones input and suggestions. Here is what I am thinking about so far:

tank- 90 gallon AGA RR

sump- DIY made with 30 gallon tank

return pump- Mag 9.5

skimmer- currently leaning towards a my reef MR-1 in sump with a
Mag12 pump but also considering a euroreef CS6-1 or lifereef

closed loop- with ? pump (need some ideas on this one)

sandbed- debating between 1" or 2" of Caribsea aragonite

Any and all input is greatly aprechiated. I have been reefing for 3 yrs and keeping fish most of my life but this will be my first tank with a sump so I need all the help I can get. Feel free to make suggestions on any part of the setup mentioned or not mentioned.

Thanks in advance for the help, Chris

Sir Knight
05/19/2004, 08:01 PM
Hey Chris,
Sound like a plan.
If you want a cheap reliable external pump for your closed loop that will do 1190 gph. I recommend a gen-x mak4. They are fan cooled and they never added any heat to my systems as far as I could tell. I ran these pumps in my greenhouse and basement farm and never had a problem. I also ran these on my own tanks and again never a problem. Premium Aquatics is selling them for $119.95.
I would not recommend mag drives externally because they have a reputation for leaking.

If you need any help putting the closed loop together let me know and I would be happy to help you.

Here is a link to PA

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=PA&Category_Code=MAK4

fishdoc11
05/19/2004, 10:02 PM
Thanks Joe, I will need help with the closed loop. I've been sitting here planning it and I allready have numerous questions.
Chris

Countzer0
05/20/2004, 08:10 AM
wow congrats chris ...sounds like a sweet project. let me know if i can do anything to help

reewik
05/20/2004, 08:40 AM