Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/28/2007, 09:24 AM
Registered Member

Noobie needs advice, mostly with algae problems

Hi guys. I'm pretty new to this hobby. I started my first SW tank exactly two months and one week ago. In the past two weeks I have been experiencing an algae problem. I'm not sure what kind of algae it is but it looks similar to blue/green algae you get in freshwater tanks. The slimy filmy stuff. As well as some similar reddish burgundy colored algae. It was just on a rock and slowly started to spread. At first I kind of liked it, it gave the tank some color, but in the past week it started to spread like crazy! It's creeping onto the sand now and doesn't look so attractive anymore. It's covering almost 1/3 of my tank.

I have a 29g tall tank (I think) with a standard HOB filter, a heater, an air pump with a 8" bubble wand/air stone, and a standard fluorescent lighting (20w, 10,000k I think). About an inch of sand and ?lbs of rock. Not sure what kind of rock (live?, dead?, don't know), and a fake resin rock/coral.

The inhabitants consist of:
1X Clown fish (Percula I think)
1X Royal Gramma Basslet
1X Firefish Goby
1X Emerald Crab
6X Dwarf Blue Leg Hermit Crabs
They are all under 2" in size.

The last time I checked the water parameters was about one and a half months ago before I added the first fish. I didn't have anything to test the water with so I took a sample to my LFS to get some answers.
The water parameters back then where:
PH 8.4
SG 18%
Temp 78F
(Not much info but what can you expect from Petsmart )