Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04/15/2003, 09:24 AM
Registered Member

Sumps vs. Skimmers

Greetings all,

I'm new to RC and have had a 125 gal. FOWLR system for about 8 weeks now. I originally was only going to go with LR and lots of fish but as I progressed in setting up the tank I decided to go with a bit of a reef with some fish. I have about 30# of LR, 1 Clark Clown, 1 Spotted Puffer, 1 Green Brittle Star, 1 Snowflake Eel (eventually will be moved to a possible 55 gal. fish only tank in hopefully the near future), 2 Conch, 1 Turbo, 1 Turbo Grazer, 1 Coral-banded Shrimp, 30 assorted crabs (mainly Blue-leg & Scarlet Hermit crabs, and 1 unidentified crab habitating one of the LR), 1 Rock Blennie, 2+ Feather Dusters, 2 Condys, 1 Yellow Star Polyp, 1 Leather, 2 Mushroom coral, 1 Gorgonian, and 1 Button Zoanthid. The water parameters are fine and I am looking to add more LR soon. Probably jumped into adding the fish too soon (like that doesn't happen at one time or another) but everyone is getting along fine and the water quality is good. My question is this, would it be recommended to add a sump first and then a skimmer, go only with the sump or go only with a skimmer? At a LFS they have an acrylic one for the size tank for $200 and they have skimmers starting at $170. I would like to do the sump but I am looking at cost effectiveness here. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all!
Old 04/15/2003, 09:33 AM
Refurbished Reefer.

Wow that is a stocked new tank.