Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01/04/2008, 10:42 PM
Registered Member

Aquarium Noise Nightmare

Hi all,

I am new to the aquarium business.

I own a 65 gallon tank (which has been cycling for about two weeks now) and find the noise that comes out my new aquisition somewhat aggravating, so much so that at times I find myself turning the pump off just for some tranquility. The fact is that I am still not sure if the soothing benefits of owning a marine aquarium are worth suffering the psychological nuisance caused by the constant noise produced by the said aquarium (I live in a studio).

I have been tackling each noise seperately. I have managed to completely eliminate the gurgling sound in the overflow compartment by building a Durso standpipe. But once the gurgling sound was eliminated, I found out I couldn't stand the sound produced by the water falling an inch or so from the overflow compartment to the top level of the standpipe. I have managed to eliminate that sound with a few well-placed pieces of wood around the entry of the output tubings.

Now I notice that I can't stand the humming sound of my external pump. See each time I manage to eliminate one sound, I realize that I can't stand the next, lower-pitch sound which had been drowned previously by the louder sound.

Behind the external pump (Little Giant Pump) I can hear the water splashing around in the plumbing underneath the tank. If I manage to quiet the pump somehow I will have to tackle that next.