Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > Seahorses & Pipefish
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07/24/2007, 06:14 PM
Registered Member

Hippocampus Capensis

Hello,

I am new to Reef Central and I have a question. I am in the process of setting up a H. Capensis tank, and I know that Ocean Rider sells Capensis, but does anyone know anyone else online, or a private breeder that has them available??

Thank You!
Old 07/24/2007, 08:10 PM
Premium Member

I'm trying to find out, too. I set my tank up for temperate seahorses earlier this year, and as soon as it was ready, most temperate seahorses became unavailable in the US.

I thought about buying from Ocean Rider, but they claim that you can keep your caps at 70 or 72 degrees. Bull*!!! These guys would get vibrio in a second if you kept them that hot. They are temperate.

I shot them an email asking what temps they really keep them at, but they never emailed me back, and that was over a month ago. If you do order from them, keep us updated! Maybe YOU can start breeding them.
Old 07/24/2007, 11:22 PM
Registered Member

Hippocampus Capensis