Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > West Region-Reef Club Forums > Southern California Reefers

Old 12/08/2007, 10:12 PM
Registered Member

Question on Metal Halide brands

I'm new to metal halide lighting and everything. I just googled and read an article saying that with 20k you'll need to supplement it with daylights. So I figure 14k would be the best spectrum for my needs. I don't have a canopy so only 1 type of lighting.

I've been reading post about what the best brand names are and I am unsure why one would be better than the other if they're both 14k. So which brand is the best bang for the buck?

Please help.
Old 12/08/2007, 10:13 PM
Registered Member

I think the Pheonix 250w 14k bulbs

Jim Mc
Old 12/08/2007, 11:28 PM
Registered Member

I use Hamilton and Phoenix both 14k, the phoenix bulb has much better color.
Old 12/09/2007, 03:33 AM
It's Domo-kun

I use 20k with no supplemental. Some prefer to supplement it with lower temperature colors to make the appearance brighter (our eyes see more in the green spectrum than blue). I like it as is.
Old 12/09/2007, 04:17 AM
Registered Member

Anyone with answers to the why part of the posting- especially the difference in generic vs. name brand bulbs cuz the difference in price is extreme. I saw the comparisons of name brands but nothing about generics.

Also, what is the difference in coral growth with different color bulbs? I thought 10K was supposed to be the best.