Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/03/2008, 09:44 PM   #1
rholguin
Registered Member
 
rholguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 846
Help Needed

I have just started to tiny patches of hair algea on my rock. The good thing its where I have no corals. My tank consist of mainly sps and clams. Cutiing down on light time is proably not a good idea. How can I get rid of it before it spreads? My tank 29g, flow 2 korolias #2, 2 powersweeps 160gph, I have a skimmer and a powerfilter. Params- CA-450, Alk-3.5, Mag-1250, Ammonia,nitrtite both zero, Nitrate less than 10. Any help is greatly appreciated.


rholguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2008, 10:56 PM   #2
nano mania
Registered Member
 
nano mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 291
Have you tested Phosphate? What kind of make up water do you use?


nano mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2008, 11:04 PM   #3
REEFY1
Registered Member
 
REEFY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vinton,VA
Posts: 983
My guess is Nitrates or phosphates, If you are using ro/di water check your TDS .


__________________
Chad

Current Tank Info: Doing a 180 This Time!!!
REEFY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2008, 02:26 PM   #4
rholguin
Registered Member
 
rholguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 846
I use ro/di water and according to my test kit phosphates are 0 and nitrates less than 10. I started to notice these patches when I started feeding Dts plankton. Any ideas if that could be the cause?


__________________
Robert

Current Tank Info: 80g rimless.
rholguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2008, 01:01 AM   #5
nano mania
Registered Member
 
nano mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 291
Phosphate tests can be tricky. A lot of the times they aren't that accurate. A "zero" reading just means that phosphate is lower than the tests range. Unless of coarse you are using a colorimeter or a digital titrator.
Another way to look at it is you have algae in the tank taking it out as fast as it gets put in. You aren't going to record nutrient levels until there is an imbalance.
I had the same problem with DT's, try feeding half as much


nano mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2008, 08:41 AM   #6
MiddletonMark
Registered Member
 
MiddletonMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 14,441
DT's is a nutrient-rich food, IME can easily lead to nutrient imbalances.

I'd cut down on it's feeding significantly, and after a period of stability, very slowly increase it as you watch how well the tank handles the nutrient addition.

As mentioned above, getting PO4 readings off a test kit can often give a reading of zero despite nutrient/phosphate issues. Colorimeters give much more specific results at low levels and often lead to more clarity on the issue .... though often just following through on improved export and nutrient control solves the problem.


What kind of powerfilter? What kind of media/etc in there? Is it something that could trap detritus ala most mechanical filters?

I'd be sure to keep that clean, keep up on tank maintenance, perhaps up your w/c schedule for a bit, and keep that skimmer clean and tweaked. Drop the feedings [esp of DT's and anything other than fish-targeted] and let the algae disappear.
Then up the feedings a little, watch over 4-6 weeks to see if any nutrient issues develop. If not, then consider feeding a little more and repeat waiting/observation period.

Just my opinion, though .... and IMO, the more opinions, the better.


__________________
read a lot, think for yourself

Current Tank Info: 58g stony reef [250w10k, 250w 20k MH, 2x vho act, Octopus150, 6060 + 6000] ; 60g mixed tub
MiddletonMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2008, 10:29 PM   #7
rholguin
Registered Member
 
rholguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 846
MiddletonMark- I use a penguin 350 in the 2 media baskets there is carbon from marineland and the filter cartridges. Good advice I'll try cutting down on feedings and stop dt's for awhile. I currentky do w/c every week and half. Thanks for all the great advice.


__________________
Robert

Current Tank Info: 80g rimless.
rholguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.