PDA

View Full Version : Nano feeding and waterchange question

fast94m
12/03/2006, 11:35 PM
So I setup a eclipse system 3 gallon nano about 3 weeks ago. I fitted a 36w pc light on top, 25w heater, aquaclear 301 powerhead w/ cut nozzle for dispersed flow, and added about 4-5 lbs of live rock. I used live sand and water from my main display so there was a minimal cycle. I currently have small frags of green star polyps, yellow polyps and zoas along w/ 3 cerith snails in it.

My question is if there is no fish to feed in the tank, should i worry about feeding my corals? I prob wont introduce any fish because the tank is so small. I contemplated a clown goby but it would just complicate the simplicity of the tank w/ feeding/filtration/etc.

Also with water changes, would it be best to change out a .5 gallon from my stable and mature main tank or .5 gallon of fresh saltwater?

I'm new to this nano thing and it seems to be doin ok so far, but i dont know what will happen in long term if i dont feed it etc. Any help is greatly appreciated. I'll post a thread w/ pix soon detailing the setup and stuff.

Aliie
12/06/2006, 08:22 PM
I would like for you to get the answers to your Q: so I am bumping your thread.

All Delight
12/06/2006, 09:39 PM
I wouldn't feed anything in there. No need to, it'll only complicate things.

I'd change about 1/4 to 1/3 of a gallon once every 10 days with new salt water.

Mark426
12/06/2006, 10:05 PM
I would change 10-20% every week with fresh seawater to replace the elements that your corals consume. Thats consensus from all the nano sites visit, with fish or not.

fast94m
12/07/2006, 01:37 AM
thank you for the replies. I'm taking your advice and will do .5 gallon water changes of saltwater that has been mixed and heated for a week. I'll keep everyone updated on its long term growth/health. Right now the brown diatoms just receded and the rock is starting to get some nicer colors.

Aliie
12/07/2006, 06:29 AM