PDA

View Full Version : Need info

brian@sen
11/15/2006, 07:56 AM
OK first of all for those of you who either have or had ricordia what is the best way to get it off of a rock? Is it like dealing with an anemone or can it be cut into smaller pieces and removed. Lana and I have several big peices of ricordia on a very big rock and we would like to either frag them for the next meeting or move them away from other corals.

Next we just upgraded the light on our 10gal. and would like to know if we could keep a clam in it and if we can what kind would you recomend? The new light is a 96Watt PC and it sits right on top of the tank.

jmccown
11/15/2006, 08:38 AM
I think most people would recommend either T5's or halides for clams. But I'm no expert on lighting.

LtPiper
11/15/2006, 08:59 AM
Here's a good site for coral prop. GARF ricordia prop (http://www.garf.org/ricord/ricord.html) They just cut them off the stalk and then cut them up in pieces. The stalk will grow back and each of the pieces will grow out.

As for the clam. I would think 96 watts on a 10 gallon would work but check with Ron and Jason to make sure.

mcox33
11/15/2006, 11:34 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8550363#post8550363 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by LtPiper
Here's a good site for coral prop. GARF ricordia prop (http://www.garf.org/ricord/ricord.html) They just cut them off the stalk and then cut them up in pieces. The stalk will grow back and each of the pieces will grow out.

I have tried the garf.org method, even after the ricordia has several mouths it just did not work very well. If you must divide them try wrapping a string or rubberband accross them and be sure to net them.

If you just need to move them try pointing a maxijet 1200 at them from the opposite direction of where you want them to go. They will gradually move. JME

firefish2020
11/15/2006, 11:57 AM