PDA

View Full Version : Mag-Lock collection cup design

ejmeier
11/08/2006, 03:59 PM
I'm not sure if this has been tried before, but I thought I'd post this to get some input.

Basically, a collection cup does not have to have a seal so tight that it holds city water pressure in the ranges of 50 - 70 PSI. It just has to be water-tight enough to keep out foam - and if you run the skimmer quite wet - then maybe a few inches of water. That is like .25 PSI, almost nothing.

Anyway, my idea was to imbed magnets into both the collection cup, and the recieving flange. The magnetic pull would be strong enough, (in theory, and depending on which magnets you use), to create a seal with an o-ring. It is similar to keyhole flange designs, only instead of a keyhole, you have a pair of magnets, one on each mating piece.

I drew a quick drawing in Google Sketch-Up. (Keep in mind I am total novice when it comes to CAD....) :rolleyes:

The collection cup half:
http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/23334cc-med.jpg

The skimmer body half:
http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/23334flange_base-med.jpg

Advantages of this propsed design are:
-Zero clearance needed to remove the cup
-Simply grab the cup firmly, and it lifts off the base - couldn't be easier
-No CNC tools needed to machine the parts like twist-lock
-Fairly quick and inexpensive fabrication of parts

Potential downfalls:
-Possibly hard to find the right balance between magnets being too strong (difficult to remove CC cup) and too weak (leaks)
-Magnets could contact tank water if something falls off

That's it. I think this design is very doable once all of the trial and error is worked out on magnet sizing. You could just use a forstner bit to drill 1/2 way through the plate and glue the magnet in. I'd probably want the magnet to pull *into* the acrylic and away from the drilled hole, to prevent it from ever coming loose.

Donw
11/08/2006, 04:23 PM