PDA

View Full Version : Electrical question...

Aristotle
10/06/2006, 12:35 AM
So I'm still very new to the concept of reefing. All of my research to date has been about species compatibility, biotopes, and things involving life inside the tank. I'm oblivious to plumbing and electricity.

I'm about to sign the contract for a new house. I plan on diving into the hobby sometime after moving in. I know where I want to put my tank(s). It's pretty far off from any other "wet" areas so any kind of special plumbing is out of the question. I'll have an RO filter installed in the kitchen, or on a utility sink in the garrage area later on, for water.

I've heard of folks doing some electrical stuff in their fish room to support all of the equipment. Is it a matter of having an additional circuit run to the wall? Is it some sort of dedicated circuit? I need to know what to ask the contractor for when we sit down with him.

I'm currently looking to run two gfci outlets to that wall. The plan is to eventually have a system somewhere between 100 and 200 gallons in total volume.

Cuby2k
10/06/2006, 01:25 AM
I used (2) 20 amp dedicated circuits for my tanks. I run heaters, (future) chiller, 4 pumps (no power heads), 1500 watts lighting, 2 reactors and pumps and some controls. It seems to handle the load fine.

I did not opt for GFCI breakers because I was afraid of the possibility of nuisance trips while I was not at home. However after sticking my hand into my sump to adjust the underwater heaters I am starting to rethink that.

Do a search on electrical and power centers here and you'll get TONs of response.

Good luck!

theatrus
10/06/2006, 01:25 AM
I'd see about running a dedicated 20amp circuit to your equipment area. If you're getting your house built, it should be comparatively cheap to run an additional circuit (might as well run one for a hot tub too ;))

serpentman
10/06/2006, 07:59 AM