PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

Ottomund
10/04/2006, 09:11 AM
Hi there,

I have acquired a 12 gallon nano cube dx setup that came with a damsel, a snail, some colt coral and live rock. I have a lot of experience with freshwater, but this is my first saltwater setup. The tank was not taken care of very well and nitrates were very high (50ppm). There was a ton of hair algae and bubble algae growing on the LR, and even the sides of the tank. I did about a 60% water change because I was concerned about the nitrate level. I also manually removed most of the algae from the tank and LR. The substrate was standard freshwater gravel so I replaced it with crushed coral. I did all of this from 11pm to 2am last night. Now I hope everything I did was OK but I have a few questions:

The largest piece of colt coral has 4 heads and is about 5-6 inches tall. It didn't look too bad after the move, but this morning it seems to be drooping down quite a bit. Most of the small pieces seem to be in good shape. Is this normal after a move or did I do something to harm it?

I used tap water with water conditioner and instant ocean salt for the 60% water change. Is that OK or do I need to use distilled water or something?

The temperature is currently 80 degrees F. Is that a good temperature or should I try to get it lower?

The blue damsel really perked up and seems to be quite a bit more colorful than it was at the previous owners house. It wouldn't even come out of it's little cave but now it is swimming all around. Is that any indication of better water quality or anything?

Is there a way to get rid of the algae? I have read that if you keep the water very low on nitrates the algae will die. Is this the best way to do it?

And finally... Does anyone have any additional general advice to give me?

Thank you all in advance for any help you can give me.

HumanIMDB
10/04/2006, 09:24 AM
First thing people are going to tell you is to get rid of the Damsel; they're nasty.