PDA

View Full Version : Algae crew?

jazzsaxdude
09/13/2006, 02:48 PM
Hello. I'm new to keeping SW and I have my 55g ready to go for fish. While I was curing my liverock, I had an explosion of algae growth. The macroalgae I put in my refugium but wat is a recommended crew for the microalgae? You name the type, I have it (green on glass, diatoms, red slime, brown dusty stuff I think I read was cyanobacteria, etc.) What types of snails are good for this stuff and how many do I need. Eventually I will wind up with:

55g w/ 20g refugium
Tide Pool S.O.S overflow
Rio+ 2500 return pump
Skilter 250
2x power sweep 228
Aqua Clear 70 for added flow
200w heater
65 lbs. live rock
4 in. sand

Also, what degree of clean up crew should I need for:
2 sm. Maroon Clown
5 Blue Green Chromis
6-line Wrasse
Court Jester Goby
Algae Blenny

I appreciate any help as I am clueless with inverts.

Thanks,
Brady

ECEKatko
09/13/2006, 05:16 PM
About how long has it all been set up? Any idea of the levels, esp nitrogen compounds and phosphate? Do you use tap water, RO, DI, distilled, etc? A diatom bloom is often a sign of cycling completion, and a lot of the time people go through an algal succession from diatom -> cyanobacteria -> coralline/macros. Sometimes just having time will cure the problems. Cyanobacteria does well in low flow areas, diatoms do especially well with silicates, but they're all fueled by excess nutrients.

Red slime is cyanobacteria, be careful how you get rid of it. I've heard of several different creatures likes assorted snails and crabs eating it, but they're mostly hit or miss (miss IME). A lot of the commercial remedies are antibacterial, which can wreak havoc with your cycling bacteria.