PDA

View Full Version : Lighting question

Leilani57
09/03/2006, 03:29 PM
I have an anemone I have not identified yet (neither could the LFS that sold it to me) so I attached a photo of it. I have had it for four days now, and it looks heathly and gobbled up some shrimp.

I have a 55 gallon, 48 inches wide, 18 inches tall. I have four CORALIFE 12 inch 28 watt bulbs-- two white and two actinic on for 8 hours per day, then it goes to four small nocturnal blue lights.

I am a newbie to anemone care, pleaes verify for me if this lighting is enough or I need to upgrade?

Thanks!

Leilani
Life is short. Race hard.
http://leilanimunter.com

http://leilanimunter.com/Images/personal/anemone.jpg

Leilani57
09/03/2006, 03:37 PM
Also, is my flow alright? I have a 500 GPH pump going from my wet/dry bio ball filtration sump and also a MJ 900 in the other corner. Is that too much, too little, or just right for my anemone and fish? The anemone is hanging in the corner with the least flow and seems happy, he has been in the same spot for four days since I bought him.

Also, can anyone identify what type it is by the photo above? Thanks!!!!

JamesJR
09/03/2006, 05:02 PM
the anemone you have possibly could be a long tentacle, macrodactyla doreensis. It looks bleached to me, which is not your fault. The fact that it is eating is a good sign and you should definately continue to feed it regularly. I would also upgrade your lighting to something stronger.

Leilani57
09/03/2006, 06:40 PM
Yes, I was just looking at the anemone guide:

http://www.carlosreef.com/AnemoneFAQ.pdf

and on page 50 the photo of the Macrodactyla doreensis looks very similar...

This anemone FAQ just says moderate flow (is a 500 GPH pump going from my wet/dry bio ball filtration sump and also a MJ 900 in the other corner ok?)

what sort of lighting should I get? The anemone FAQ only states metal halide lighting. It is not very specific as to how strong that lighting should be...

JamesJR
09/03/2006, 07:36 PM