PDA

View Full Version : need urgent help with black percula

fish are life
08/29/2006, 11:55 PM
i baught one and was doing awsome when all of a sudden he is hiding all the time and has a gray slime looking thing on his skin, he also hasnt eaten since this occured.

redvipe2010
08/30/2006, 12:03 AM
not sure what it is, but do you have him in quarantine yet? Do you have a pic? is it like a parasite?

fish are life
08/30/2006, 12:13 AM
no i dont have a QT tank set up, i havnt has the need for it yet. and no my scanner is down i couldnt get pick up, i believe it is a parasite, at first i thought he was stressed and lost his color but no i see the black is hiding under the gray and he is still swimming around but hiding and not eating.

redvipe2010
08/30/2006, 12:16 AM
Ok, I've never tried this before, but I've read many times to do a fresh water dip. Match the PH and the temp, and in a few minutes it should come off.

redvipe2010
08/30/2006, 12:16 AM
Oh, make sure there is no chlorine in the water too. Are you using tap water, RO/DI, or RO?

fish are life
08/30/2006, 12:22 AM
well i do fresh water dips at my work regularly, sometimes it works sometimes is kills the fish, i do treat the water first and leave them in for about 5-7 mins, gosh if i do i have about 200lbs of lr to get out.

redvipe2010
08/30/2006, 12:34 AM
I don't know what else to do. Maybe someone else will chime in. I strongly suggest getting a quarantine tank. 10 gallon is all you need, and it's well worth it.

fish are life
08/30/2006, 12:47 AM
ya i know i have a 20 lying around but now i dont have the $ to set it up

Ooulophilia
08/30/2006, 01:03 AM
it has brookanella, fairly common (known as clownfish disease). Fairly hard to treat if this advanced, but I would recommend a series of formalin dips (there is a thread bookmarked on the fish diseases forum, check it out).
FW dips end up being detrimental on clowns with brook.

Steven Pro
08/30/2006, 06:03 AM