PDA

View Full Version : Best water? Fishy only or reef w/ fish?

Finding_nemo1
08/24/2006, 03:26 PM
It's my very first fish tank although I had a fish bowl before like 8 yrs. ago.

Anyways, as a very new person in this hobby I'd like to get suggestions whether I should have fishes only or with reef?
I like the idea of having both (coz it's soo pretty) but after talking to some people I'm leaning towards fish only. I want to try salt water tank but with my knowledge, time and $$$ I don't know if I can afford the equipments in the upkeep of a reef tank.
Is it true that if I go fishes only, I don't need to get live rocks anymore? Is it hard to transform a fish only to reef tank?

Raibaru
08/24/2006, 03:28 PM
I am also new to all of this and just recently made my first few equiptment purchases. What I would suggest is for you to setup a Fish Only tank with Live Rock. Live Rock will help with filtration and will give you the ability to upgrade to a reef down the road if you want with only needing to invest in a better light really.

Finding_nemo1
08/24/2006, 03:30 PM
Ohh also I forgot.... what's the best water to start with?
Can I start with tap water, dechlorinate it and just mix it with salt?
Should I buy reverse osmosis water from sparkletts and have it delivered?
Should I buy salt water from LFS?
Should I buy a filter ?
Should I buy a RO/DI?

What's the most cost effective way to do this?
FYI: I live on the 2nd floor (2 flts of stairs).
The water in my faucet seems to have a lot of minerals ....I can see water stains (white deposit) on washed glasses

GlobaLPimP
08/24/2006, 03:30 PM