PDA

View Full Version : Question

dabears
08/20/2006, 06:06 PM
I am new to this forum so hi to all of u. I have a few questions about keeping fish. What is the difference between a saltwater tank and reef tank? Also what size tank do u recommend? And what fish corals and live rock u would need. I have limited experience keeping saltwater fish but i would love to do it again.

hgbarwick
08/20/2006, 07:18 PM
First of all you need to do reaserch. Take a couple of months before youuu get into the hobby. A saltwater tank and a reef tank are the same. The two types of tanks are fish only and reef. Reef tanks have corals. Do reaserch.

hgbarwick
08/20/2006, 07:18 PM
Sorry double post.

dabears
08/20/2006, 07:32 PM
yea im not gonna get started till i am sure of everything.

emerald chondro
08/20/2006, 08:26 PM
Since one of the questions has been answered already i won't go into it however
as far as the tank what kind of fish would you like to keep determines how large the tnak is, but yes do your research about everything your going to get.

dabears
08/20/2006, 08:31 PM
but would u say for a person that doesnt have much experience would having a big tank be easier or harder?

emerald chondro
08/20/2006, 08:48 PM
a larger tank is easier to maintain water quality (i think atleast) but its also much more expensve

Poorcollegereef
08/20/2006, 08:58 PM
well depending on your experience, we need more information. If you have NO fish experience, then freshwater should be attempted first, just to learn some basics.