PDA

View Full Version : mandarin questions

scoobasteve
07/28/2006, 08:27 AM
Hi. I am somewhat new to reefkeeping and since i setup my new tank i have been thinking it would be really awesome to have a mandarin goby. Only trouble is i hear they are hard to keep in good health and color and feeding them is tedious at best. I know they eat something called copeopods(spelling) and i was wondering if someone could tell me exactly what these pods are and how to best make sure they are in my tank before i add the goby.
I was hoping to keep a mandarin, an arce eyed hawkfish--mabye a hawian hawkfish, not sure yet, and a false percula along with a small cleanup crew.

Drewcipher
07/28/2006, 09:11 AM
What size tank?

pods are little critters that live in your rock. They will be in your tank if you put live rock in. You can also get some from another reefer or buy some online. They take a while to establish though. Most people say to let your tank age for a year or so before putting in a mandarin. It also depends on the size of the tank. Mandarins often will not eat anythng but live, so if the tank is not big enough it won't be able to sustain enough pods to feed the fish.

scoobasteve
07/28/2006, 09:32 AM
i wanted yo keep it in my 12g aquapod. The size of the fish looked about rite for this size tank, and i noticed they weren't all that active. However, being as i only have about ten pounds of live rock in the tank it probably wouldn't have enough food.
Can you buy live pods online?
Also, my water has been turning a little green lately. I havn't added any livestock yet, and its been cycling for about three weeks now. The actinic light on the hood blew the day i got the tank, and i am still waiting on th replacement. Could the absence of blue spectrum light be casuing the alage growth?

Drewcipher
07/28/2006, 10:02 AM