PDA

View Full Version : Someone that is good at Freshwater help me.

shawnaus17
06/13/2006, 11:35 PM
So I have a 55 gallon I donated to our local airport. I am wanting to do a planted tank. I am going with 260 watts of pc and a Under gravel filter with two powerheads one with the reverse filter. I also am doing that subtrate that is rich for live plants and got a CO2 system as well. Can anyone direct me in what is the do and don't of a planted tank. It has been along since I keep these and I am a novice at that not really understanding the full take of freshwater. If anyone can offer some advice please do. I need all I can ;)

Shawn

KingDiamond
06/13/2006, 11:53 PM
It looks like you have plenty of light! My main suggestion is to plan what plant you want and where they will go and get them all at once. This will help minimize algae problems from the start. My only other suggestion would be to monitor your Hardness and your CO2 and make sure you feed the roots of any root feeding plants you might get (Val., Swords ect..). I always used fertilizer tab from this place in Ohio (http://www.williamtricker.safeshopper.com ).

Brad

P.S. aquaticplantdepot.com has really good stuff for good prices and they ship plants so they arrive is great condition.

jpfelix
06/13/2006, 11:54 PM
there are many schools of thought on plants (kinda like reefs!;) ). i like using seachem onyx under a thick layer of eco-complete. plants don't need much flow. temps will vary with the plants you get. light cycle will typically run 8-12hrs.

some easy plants: water sprite, val. sp., java fern, java moss, hornwort

this (http://www.plantgeek.net/) may help you also.

azgardens is also a good place to look around.

surfnvb7
06/14/2006, 12:14 AM
well, first of all, you are blasting that tank with light at 4.7wpg. and yes, the wpg rule holds true for planted tanks.