PDA

View Full Version : Kelvin VS Par

reefshadow
06/11/2006, 08:58 PM
I'm not very tech savvy, so I have a quick question about lighting.

what is the general consensus on kelvin vs. par as it relates to the growth and colour of corals

i have a 240 mixed reef and had noticed that the output on my 1 year old 250 watt 14 k coralvues seemd pretty lame. i decided just out of curiosity to switch them for some of my old 10 k ushios. i was blown away by the difference in intensity, but not happy with the colours it rendered - not actual coral colour of course, but the way it looked to my eyes- i decided however to keep the ushios on and see if it made a difference in growth and coral colour. i haven't seen any difference in either though after a month.

is there a real advantage to more par, lower kelvin, or should i just put my dimmer coralvues back on, be happy, and plan to buy new lamps in the not too distant future :confused:

the corals seemed happy under the lower intensity, and i was getting good growth.

LBCBJ
06/11/2006, 09:56 PM
Lower kelvins like 10k give you better PAR than higher kelvins, like a 20k. Some people claim their corals grow faster under the 10k's, but even if that's true I can't stand the color of a 10k. I love the Phoenix 14k, which is my personal favorite. I pick asethetics over coral growth...as long as they're healthy, who cares?

Woodstock
06/11/2006, 10:19 PM
Hi Reefshadow!