PDA

View Full Version : If you have a minute, some ids please...

Newreeflady
05/08/2002, 07:14 PM
Some things i've found in my tanks recently and have not been able to identify:

- weird shrimp-like critters. They range from 3/4" to 1 1/4" long, 3/4 cm to 1cm wide, have lots of legs that are short like shrimp, but not in line, but rather kinda outspread like spider legs, black eyes, clear bodies. Kinda remind me of cockroaches, but clear with black eyes.

- white curley thingys. There are a whole bunch of these, about 2mm each in size. They are shaped like the snails shells you used to crush between your thumb and forefinger as a child, kinda like a circular maze. They are white, small, round mazy things. There were first only a couple, now they are all over the back wall, looks like stars in the sky since my background is black.

- odd worm. about 2" fully expanded, width is about 1-2mm, it has lots of small filiment like yellow legs, body appears to be striped vertically along backside, color is orangy-yellowish. I saw this creature in my 10g tank at the very top of the glass, I proceeded to nudge it back to the floor, and it immediately curled up into a ball and let itself fall, then upon reaching the floor it opened back up and went back to the glass. The tip of this creatures mouth reminds me of that of a cucumber.

Any ideas?

thx,

Angela.

asmujica
05/08/2002, 07:19 PM
Newreeflady maybe this site can help:

http://www.rshimek.com/animal_identifications1.htm

I wish I could help out more but apparently I am not very good at reefkeping right now... :(

ltbt8
05/08/2002, 07:41 PM