PDA

View Full Version : Water quality testing

neuroslicer
05/25/2006, 11:55 AM
First off, does anyone use a spectrophotometer for water quality measuring? I have easy access to one and would like to know if others use one, and if so where you get your chemicals, what wavelengths you use to measure various chemical concentrations, what calibration equations you use to convert absorbance to concentration, etc. I'd hate to reinvent the wheel if some of you are already driving!

Next, I've been using a Hagen nitrate test kit for a couple years, always getting less than 5 PPM of nitrate. My tank doesn't suffer from any algal blooms that might be fueled by high nitrate. I purchased a Salifert NO3 test kit and tried it out the other day. I got a reading of over 25 ppm NO3! Now I read that some test kits (but not the Salifert) underestimate NO3 due to "amine interference".

Just in case my Hagen chemicals are expired, and that's why I'm reading low with the Hagen kit, I've ordered another Hagen kit. Either way it looks like I've got to do some major water changes over the next couple weeks, add even more live rock, and cut down on the amount of food I give the fish.
Neuroslicer
(Jay)

just dave
05/25/2006, 09:17 PM
Do those kits read nitrate-nitrogen or the nitrate ion?