PDA

View Full Version : OT - Looking for a career

JVHam
05/15/2006, 11:22 AM
This is a bit off topic but I thought I would get your opinions. I am a younger professional that is looking for a career. The reason I am not using the term job is because I have had many of those. I just read an article in the Rocky Mountain News that boiled down to the idea that many employers have negative thoughts about the effectiveness of younger professionals. This is very frustrating for me as I have always been an extremely hard working and goal exceeding individual.

As most of you know the job market in our area is in a bit of a slump and very over qualified people are lured into dead end short term jobs. Since I do not know the varied backgrounds of the members of this club I thought posting an open ended thread might get the right persons attention.

My personal background is focused in film and photography and I have a Film degree from CU. However, my most recent 2 years of work was freelance management for Warren Miller Ent. I have sales (retail and B to B) experience, film, design (motion and still), and high end management experience.

For those of you looking for the right person or have suggestions of where to go please post or pm me and I will send you my resume.

I am looking for a career in many fields just looking for the right people to work for to excel.

Thanks

adams0816
05/15/2006, 08:14 PM
Jason are you trying to stay in your current field or something temporarily while you find permanent work.

JVHam
05/15/2006, 08:28 PM
I am currently working at Whole Foods. I am looking for something that has potenial. You know? I would probably be fine with this job for a while if I could get somewhat of a consistent schedule. Marketing/Advertising or Financial related would be at the top of my list.

cubuffs
05/15/2006, 09:53 PM