PDA

View Full Version : 4 Bulb Tek T5 Light?

Nami19
04/20/2006, 10:09 AM
I'm new to the whole T5 lighting.

would a 4 bulb Tek (216W) be too weak for a 75G. I have the 260W Coralife PC, I'm looking into the Tek 4 bulb (216). Does that blow away my PC unit even though the wattage is less? I have zoo's and ricordia, but want to be able to put some SPS corals at the top of my tank.

Also, what purpose does the acrylic cover serve for the Tek T5? Is it really neccessary?

raynist
04/20/2006, 10:27 AM
I use the 6 bulb version on my tank. The 4 bulb should still be way brighter on your tank than the PC's, why do you not want the 6 bulb?

I think the acrylic cover is just to keep salt spray off the reflectors/endcaps. You can buy the acrylic at Home Depot for much cheaper than getting the shield.

--Ray

Nami19
04/20/2006, 10:46 AM
I just looked at the 4 bulb because someone I know is offering it to me at a good price. Could I keep SPS corals under it?

sheepdawg
04/20/2006, 12:08 PM
I'm running 4 bulb Tek retro T5 setup on my 75 gallon and am keeping a mixed tank with sps up top. Everything is growing nicely. T5's are definitely way brighter than PCs. I'm looking to upgrade my tek reflectors to SLR to improve the performance even more. Here is my bulb configuration:

blue+
GE 6500K
aquablue
blue+

Nami19
04/20/2006, 01:34 PM
So it's not neccessarily the amount of watts per gallon, it's the strength of the light?

My 260W PC in my 75 is 3.5 watts/gallon, the 216 T5 is 2.9 watts/gallon. Sorry for the questions, I'm just trying to understand and do what's best.

scarletknight06
04/20/2006, 01:38 PM
nami19,
yes thats correct watts per gallon is an outdated rule. PAR readings are what matter mainly (do a google search for sanjay's reef lighting and read all about it).
The 216w T5 with individual reflectors is much more light.

sheepdawg,
I just ordered a 4x39w tek light. so it is possible to take out the tek reflectors and replace them with Icecap SLR ones?

blackie lawless