PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a quarantine tank

azpt
03/30/2006, 01:41 AM
I'm very new to this salt water tank phenomenon. I inherited a 150 gallon bow front tank with my new home I purchased. In it, was a mature lion fish (about 8" inch body lenght), a 24" mooray eel. and a think layer of crushed coral along the bottom of the tank. Also about a dozen or so large pieces of rock. (live rock? not sure?)

There is a sump underneath. I recently added a G3 protein skimmer which helped tremendously with clearing up the water. I check the water with the little dip sticks from my LFS. Everything seems to be fine. For about a month, I've been feeding the lion and the eel, live goldfish, frozen krill, and/or frozen silversides.

About 2 weeks ago I went down to the local fish store (I'm assuming that's what LFS means on all these posts) and bought a wrasse (blue,green, really pretty, not sure exactly what kind) and a tusk fish (orange stripes, also real pretty). I acclaimated them as instructed by the store. This acclamation consisted of slowly mixing my tank water with the store water before dumping them into my tank.

After adding them into my tank, they seemed fine, nobody was fighting, everyone was eating after the first day.

Then after a few days I noticed white spots on the tusk fish. Also, the tail of the tusk had a noticable white spot (parasite?) that seemed to be eating away at its tail.

I seeked help from the LFS, they suggested Garlic, and I tried that.

It didn't really do the trick. I lost the tusk fish 2 days ago. Honestly at this point I thought I just bought a sick fish, and oh well, sh*t happens. However, now my wrasse is sick and my lion is sick too!

I read most of the post entitled "Is this ich and how can I help him?"
http://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=167243