PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy this tank??

Starrhm
03/29/2006, 02:01 PM
I am looking to set up a Nano tank. I want the capabiltiy to keep any type of corals and clams in it without having to do a bunch of upgrades later. What do you think of this tank? Is it too pricy for what you get?? I am not very good at the DIY stuff however I can us a screwdriver if need be! I just want to get off to a good start.

This is the tank I am looking at:
http://www.nanocustoms.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=112

I think I would rather have a 24 gallon, but I can't find any complete systems with good lighting and an enclosed hood.

I have to have an enclosed canopy because I have two very curious cats that have already nocked the top off and crawled in our turle tank. The turtle managed to escape his claws but I don't want to take any chances with my new reef :)

Thanks for your help!

floridareefs
03/29/2006, 02:09 PM
personally, I would go with a 24g aquapod, through a 70w or 15w halide, for cheaper than what you listed there. More water, means less changes etc.

Starrhm
03/29/2006, 02:53 PM
I like the idea of having a bigger tank for cheaper, means I'll have more $$ for stuff in it too:) But the aquapod with halide is an open top and it's only 70w is that enough? What would I do to keep a very smart cat out of an open top?

FishWife1
03/29/2006, 03:01 PM
I would go with the 24, too. I love my 12 gal Nano but it sure did fill up fast. A large part of my enjoyment is actually in the creating so once it's done, I'm ready to move on to the next.

Bad, bad obsession! :)

Laurie

ycrazyy
03/29/2006, 03:30 PM