PDA

View Full Version : 10g setup list: looking for adivce

mtfish
03/24/2006, 01:16 AM
First I would like to say hi, I've been lurking for a while now but finally got the guts to start a Nano. I'm new to reef keeping but have been keeping several FW tanks for years. I'm looking foward joining you all in this fantastic niche of the hobby. Enough of the boring stuff...

I'm trying to start with as little $$$ spent as possible, so everything you see listed (except the livestock, rock , & other noted items) I have aquired through my years keeping FW tanks. Before you ask why I had a skimmer, let me just say the price was right. ;)

I would appreciate it if you would take a look and make any suggestions or comments.

I will be using
10 Gallon Aquarium
AQUACLEAR 70
Penguin 550 Powerhead
(2) Single Fluorescent Fixture 19w for 38w total
Prizm Deluxe Skimmer
Heater
Glass Hood
Digital Thermometer

Will buy
10-12lbs Live rock (Tonga) & Rubble in filter.
Salt Mix
Living Sea Hydrometer Plus-Large Thermometer
(Refractometer) <--- I'll get one after I'm sure I'm sticking with the reef hobby, which will take about a day :)
Reef sand & live sand to seed it.

Other Stuff I have
RO/DI
Test Kits

Livestock... I think...
watchman goby
pistol shrimp
False Percula <-- I'm undecided on him.

Clean-up Crew
2 astrea snails
2 Nassarius snails
1 red leg hermit

Maybe Later???
1 Brittle star

Corals
zoanthids, star polyps, mushrooms

Final Notes
I do have a few other powerheads & HOB filters. I went with the aquaclear because from what I've read most people who have used them have been happy.

If someone knows of a CHEAP DIY approach to the lighting I would consider that as well.

I realize many people argue that a skimmer isn't needed but I figure I have it so I might as well use it and that any nutrients lost will be replaced by weekly water changes.