PDA

View Full Version : A "REEF SAFE" DWARF ANGEL any ideas

daghostryder
03/29/2002, 12:26 PM
I really lik ethe Mindnight Angel but not sure of its reef safetiness

Any ideas or help for a nice dwarf angel that is REEF SAFE would be appreciated .

Thanks!

yellow dog
03/29/2002, 12:59 PM
No such thing as a reef safe pygmy angel. Some limit their nipping to certain corals, others nip at everything, some don't nip for a while then suddenly begin nipping. This all depends on how much you can tolerate (e.g. living without the certain types of corals your angel nips or highly tempting corals like xenia or open brains). I personally like these fish enough to tolerate some coral munching. I'm not experienced with the midnight angel but have kept flamebacks and coral beauties in reefs - on the whole not too much damage. As an alternative, the angels in the genicanthus family are reef safe (eat plankton) but the colors are not so nice.

Tennsquire
03/29/2002, 01:00 PM
I've kept different types of Pygmy Angels over the last ten years, and have found it to be hit or miss with their degree of reef safety. I had a Cherub for years that was very well-behaved, then another one a few years later that nipped everything it saw. Same with coral beauties, Potters, Flamebacks. You just never know, and it's pretty much up to the fish. Hopefully, your reef is mature and doing well enough to support the occasional polyp bandit. If not, they do make really tiny fish hooks.....

mammon
03/29/2002, 01:06 PM
My personal favorite has always been the flame angel. I agree with the others it seems to be more about the individual fish not the type that makes them "reef safe". Members of the same species often seem to have different appitites. Potter's Angels are also very nice but are more subseptible to water problems then the Flame Angel.

intekhab
03/29/2002, 01:20 PM
I've recently gotten a Midnight Angel. Oh, its a thing of beauty :thumbsup: