PDA

View Full Version : Fiji Live Rock? What Is It

MarineKid
05/20/2000, 10:30 AM
Hi, Im new at the saltwater aquaria and I am buying a 100 gallon tank, and of my friends said to use fiji live rock. He won't tell me wht it is. If you know what it is please tell me. Thanks

Kate
05/20/2000, 10:57 AM
Hi MarineKid!! Welcome to the board!! ALOT of very knowledgeble people here to help you and answer your questions! Getting a new tank? WELCOME to the hobby also! You're about to become addicted.

Concerning your question - Figi Live Rock is Live Rock which comes from the reefs surrounding the Figi Islands in the pacific.

Live Rock is a necessity in a reef tank for a number of reasons. If you are are planning on incorporating a "reef" in your tank (which shall provide a more natural environment for any life forms you introduce) Live Rock(LR) is a requirement. LR from Figi is of a very good grade and is about as inexpensive as any LR available.

What is LR? It is loose pieces of rock taken from a reef which is covered with living organisms; thus the name "lve rock".

In any SW tank the tank will go through a "cycle" as soon as you intoduce water and life to it. The best cycle is achieved with LR rather than with fish(cycling with fish is cruel) and also negates the need for an expensive Wet/Dry filter system which is (often times) merely a factory for nitrates. LR absorbs nitrates and changes them to nitites.

This has been an extremely brief answer to your question! I am sure MANY other will add much much more!!

You really need to begin reading everything you can about having a new tank, about cycling your tank, about maintaining a reef tank, etc, etc. I would suggest (as a starting point) our excellent library here at RC(Reef Central).

Ask a million questions here online!!! This is the easiest and best way (and least expensive) to get answers!!

Once again ......... WELCOME!!!!!

[This message has been edited by Kate (edited 05-20-2000).]

AquaNut