PDA

View Full Version : Starting a new 90 gallon tank

El Langostino
11/27/2005, 06:11 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to the forums here and I'm also very new to the saltwater hobby. I was wondering if anyone could possibly verify if my list of various tank equipment seems to be adequate.

I plan on purschasing basically the following:

90 gallon reef ready tank
pine stand

versa Top 48 X 18 glass hood

All-glass Aquarium 48" Double strip light

Wet/dry trickle filter/ Protein Skimmer combo w/ 15 gallon sump

Rio Hypderflow 26 Circulation pump as powerhead

350watt heater

40 lbs bag of Aragoite sand

40-50 lbs of Fiji live rock

an RO/DI unit

Er...I might have accidentally omitted some other items, not really sure...however if this is the case, feel free to suggest anything to me.

Also, could someone suggest a salt mix and explain to me how to go about doing, and all the tools necessary for the salt water creation process? I guess I'd need something to the extent of a home depot bucket and a pump?

One last thing I promise! My friend has given me a 40 gallon tank that will fit under the stand and I was just wondering if I'd be able to place the wet/dry skimmer combo inside of this 40 gallon tank. I'd like to do this so I can greatly increase the total volume of the tank. Just wondering if it is reasonable to do this.

I guess that's about it, any comments are greatly appreciated =)

El Langostino
11/27/2005, 06:16 PM
Oh, yes.....one more thing. I forgot to mention this is going to be a fish only tank. It will have some live rock too, but not enough to really be used as bio-filtration so I'll just call in an FO for now I suppose.

E-A-G-L-E-S
11/27/2005, 06:23 PM
sump return pump?
another powerhead in tank.

El Langostino
11/27/2005, 06:29 PM
Ah, right. Thanks. Forgot to mention that.

I guess a Ocean Runner 2700 pump would suffice?

roader247
11/27/2005, 06:44 PM