PDA

View Full Version : water movement ?

allenpantino
11/26/2005, 12:58 AM
I am new to the hobby.I have a 65 gallon tank with a lot of rock in their. How much water movement should I have in a tank that size??? its a reef tank with 5 fish,1 anemone 1 branching euphyllia. And is water movement that critical to the tank?? thanks for your help.

my filter is a fluval404 and i have a protien skimmer prisim pro red sea

thedog
11/26/2005, 01:18 AM
[welcome]

water movement is very important, anemone will need a lot. how much movement do you have now. also, what is your lighting the anemone will need lot and lots of light.

allenpantino
11/26/2005, 01:45 AM
Thanks for the reply. The lights I use are 2, 40 watt 48" Marine Glow from 7-6pm and 1, 36 watt blue moon 48" from 6 pm to midnight.

The water flow I have right now is from the skimmer and the vuval the head is pretty stong but its behind the rock blocking movement.the skimmer and the head to the vuval are next to each other on one side of the tank. The anemone is on the opposite side but does get light striaght on. its in the center of the tank. not to high to the light.any suggestions. and thanks again.

al

Fred_J
11/26/2005, 02:48 AM
Normally water flow is expressed as tank turnover. Most people like to see 20 to 40 times the tank volume as turnover per gallon.
Anemone's are considered difficult to keep, and need very strong lighting. It's hard to say how many watts per gallon as the distance from the light is also important.

Fred

boxfishpooalot
11/26/2005, 05:02 AM
If you have slow water flow, the gasses that surround the tank will be slow to exchange and become balanced. Think about the reef and all the crashing waves.

WATER MOVEMENT FACTS:
According to Eric Borneman's book, these are some typical flow rates:

-Low Flow = 0.5 - 2 in/sec
-Medium flow = 2.5 - 8 in/sec
-High Flow = 8 - 20 in/sec
-Very High Flow = above 20 in/sec

And these are some typical flows in different areas of the reef: