PDA

View Full Version : UK Ricordea fanatic

JCD
11/17/2005, 11:54 AM
Hi Anthony,

i have just recently recieved your book of coral propogation through the post and i must say it is the best read i have had in a long while, found it extremley helpful and i dont go or do anything with out it by my side.

My question is, and i do hope you can help as im really desperate, i have been keeping Ricordea Florida for a couple of years now and i absolutly love them, they have got to be my favourite coral of all. The trouble is i also love Ric Yuma which is vertually impossible to buy over here in the UK and as a result i only have one such specimen. Now im looking at buying from the States but have been informed by some very helpful guys on this forum that Yuma do not ship for a period of 2 days very well. Is this true? If so how is there any other way i could go about collecting these awsome mushrooms. I need to feed my Ricordea addiction, sure you understand.

Also do you have to have a licsence to ship coral internationally or not. If not would it be possible fly out to the States, gather a collection of them to bring back with me. Look forward to hearing from you and do hope you can help me out.

All the best hopefully speak soon,

J Bridges (UK).
:)

Anthony Calfo
11/17/2005, 01:37 PM
Cheers, J... and welcome to Reef Central!!!! :D :) :D

And thank you for your very kind words about my book. It is redeeming and inspiring for me to hear, my friend.

I would agree that Ridordea yuma is not an especially sturdy shipper. Indeed... there are very few reef creatures that I would put intentionally through 2 day shipping. Its too difficult to maintain stable and adequate temps for most. Just some shallow reef creatures seem to tolerate the stress well (like certain zoanthids).