PDA

View Full Version : Lighting for a small tank

Sorbo
11/16/2005, 11:31 PM
Hey Everyone

I'm still fairly new to this and I've got a question regarding lighting on a small tank. I currently have a 15 gallon tank setup (12" high) and I've got 2 65W PC lights over top of it, one Actinic, and one 10K bulb.

Now I know that metal halide is the best lights you can get, and for keeping a divesity in a larger tank, thats probably the way to go, but what kind of things can I keep with this setup?

It's almost 10W/gallon and I know some people say that doesn't matter but some do. The light doesn't have a lot of water to penetrate so I was wondering if that would makd a difference. Will I be able to keep SPS in there? LPS?

Any help would be appreciated as I've found many different opinions on this type of thing.

Thanks!
Kev

Paul Davies
11/17/2005, 07:14 AM
Hi there,

It all depends on what you are planning on keeping.

With the lighting, i would stick to soft corals.

Cuervo420
11/17/2005, 07:53 AM
I have 2x65w pc as well. I used to keep them on a 20h (16"h) and have since changed the tank to a 20l (12"h). The move actually bleached most of my coralline (yes i have been acclimating). I keep mostly softies and LPS. You could keep some lower light SPS, but their coloration might not be what you want (slightly brown).
IMO, I wouldn't get mh lights for such a small (height and volume) tank. Heat and evap issues could be incredible. Just my experience.

Sorbo
11/17/2005, 11:38 AM
What type of light should I be using for the tank to keep some SPS with lower light requirements. Which SPS have the lower requirements?
Also, what LPS corals have lower light requirements?

Thanks!

rklutt
11/17/2005, 01:09 PM